Are memories as good as time travel?

So I asked myself a question the other day, “Are memories an adequate replacement for time travel?”. I know, a weird question but one that has been stuck in my head ever since I thought about it. Long story short I have been having a bit of a rough few weeks, life changing stuff that I didn’t realize could affect we the way it has. You live and you learn, they say, but at my age I had hoped I would stop learning these life lessons. Well I have not. True story!

We all make mistakes in our lives and we hopefully all learn from them, sometimes it does take the best of us a few runs at the same mistakes to really make a life change. So to answer my questions right now memories are not an adequate replacement for time travel but if I have learned a great deal from this round of mistakes and I will never let fear shape my decisions again. I was talking to my wonderful cousin today and she shared the best piece of advice I have had in a long time “There are only two things to remember here, anything people do or say comes from either a place of love or fear, and only love is real. True story!”. Yes she stole my line. True story!

I never like to talk too much about what is going on in my personal life but I thought this vague description of my learning was worth sharing. In order to celebrate the memories over the last year I thought some photos of my best memories might inspire the thought that memories really are important and they shape who we are and who we will be. They inspire both joy and pain, but the painful turns to joyful memories over time.

Below is one of my favourite songs to start the photo tour, “My Heart” by the Perishers

Next up continuing on the nostalgic route, Band of Horses, “No One’s Gonna Love You”.

To end things off something a bit more hopeful from Noah and the Whale featuring the lovely Laura Marling, “5 Years Time”.

IMG_0903 IMG_0910 IMG_0916 IMG_0917 IMG_0918 IMG_0922 IMG_0924 IMG_0929 IMG_0938 IMG_0941 IMG_0943 IMG_0945 IMG_0955 IMG_0964 IMG_0974 IMG_0986 IMG_0987 IMG_0997

Looking back in retrospect I have had a lot of really great moments over the last year, so I will change my answer. Memories are not quite as good as time travel but they do bring moments of happiness to us all.

Leave a Reply

